

October 1, 2020

## ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT APPOINTS KUJAWA AS RESIDENT JUDGE IN 20<sup>th</sup> JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier and the Illinois Supreme Court have announced the appointment of L. Dominic (Nick)\_Kujawa Jr. as a Resident Circuit Judge for St. Clair County in the Twentieth Judicial Circuit.

Mr. Kujawa is being appointed to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of the Hon. Stephen P. McGlynn following McGlynn's appointment as a Judge of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Illinois.

The appointment takes effect on October 22, 2020, and will conclude on December 5, 2022, when the vacancy will be filled by the winner of the November 2022 general election.

"Mr. Kujawa was highly recommended by a selection committee I assembled for another recent vacancy and I am confident he will do an outstanding job," Justice Karmeier said. "He has broad experience in the practice of law. Over the course of his career, he has handled both civil and criminal cases and represented plaintiffs as well as defendants. He is well respected in the legal community, and his experience as a sole practitioner will bring a useful perspective to his judicial service."

Mr. Kujawa has worked in solo practice at Dominic Kujawa P.C. since 2007. In this role he has represented clients in general civil litigation matters and felony cases as well as advocated for those who have suffered traumatic personal injuries. Prior to this, he worked as a law clerk with Kujawa, Bryan, Lykins, Hetjmanek and Fincher, PA, and Pauzauskie Law Office, both in Topeka, Kansas, and was a licensed student attorney at the Washburn Law Clinic in Topeka.

"I would like to think Justice Karmeier for nominating me to this position," Kujawa said. "I look forward to serving the people of St. Clair County and the Twentieth Judicial Circuit."

Mr. Kujawa earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Missouri and his *Juris Doctor* from Washburn University School of Law.

Mr. Kujawa's professional associations include the Illinois State Bar Association, the Illinois Trial Lawyers Association, the St. Clair County Bar Association, and the East St. Louis Bar Association.

The Twentieth Judicial Circuit encompasses five counties: Monroe, Perry, Randolph, St. Clair, and Washington.

## \_\_30\_\_

## (FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: Chris Bonjean, Communications Director to the Illinois Supreme Court at 312.793.2323 or <u>cbonjean@illinoiscourts.gov</u>.)