

**Supreme Court of Illinois** 

July 18, 2025

## JUSTICE LISA HOLDER WHITE ANNOUNCES FORMATION OF SCREENING COMMITTEE TO FILL FIFTEENTH CIRCUIT VACANCY

Public invited to submit comments

Justice Lisa Holder White of the Supreme Court of Illinois has announced the formation of a judicial screening committee for the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit.

The screening committee was formed for the purpose of assessing the qualifications of those who have applied for appointment to the office of Resident Circuit Judge for the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit. The vacancy resulted from the retirement of the Hon. Kevin J. Ward, effective August 22, 2025. Under the Illinois Constitution, the vacancy will be filled by a Supreme Court appointment.

After the committee has received public input, gathered information, and interviewed the applicant, it will report its findings to the Supreme Court of Illinois who will make the appointment. The person appointed will serve as Resident Circuit Judge until the first Monday in December following the November 2026 general election.

The screening committee consists of non-lawyers and lawyers who reside in the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit. The non-lawyer members of the committee are Tessa Flak, Sharon Hansen, Chris Kuberski, and Kevin Turner. The lawyer members of the committee are Attorneys Joseph Nack, Robert Roth, and Sara Peska.

Attorney Robert Roth will serve as chairperson of the committee.

The only applicant for the appointment is Associate Judge John D. Hay.

Members of the public are invited to submit written comments concerning the applicant by U.S. mail to: Fifteenth Judicial Screening Committee, c/o Lesley Dever, 309 S. Galena Avenue, Suite 330, Dixon, IL 61021 or by email to <u>ldever15thcircuit@gmail.com</u>. Comments must be in writing and received no later than 5 p.m. on August 7, 2025. Anonymous letters will not be accepted. All comments will be held in the strictest confidence by the committee and the court.

The Fifteenth Judicial Circuit includes Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, and Stephenson counties.

## (FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: James Brunner, Public Information Officer of the Illinois Supreme Court at 217.208.3354 or <u>jbrunner@illinoiscourts.gov</u>.)