

SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

CHAMBERS OF JUSTICE DAVID K. OVERSTREET

PO BOX 489 MT. VERNON, IL 62864 TELEPHONE (618) 244-8360 FAX (618) 244-8366

NOTICE OF CIRCUIT JUDGE VACANCY FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT (At Large)

Please take notice that a vacancy will exist in the office of Circuit Judge At Large of the Fourth Judicial Circuit of Illinois by reason of the retirement of Judge Douglas L. Jarman effective January 29, 2025.

Pursuant to the authority of section 12, subsection (c) of article VI of the Constitution of Illinois, the Supreme Court will appoint a person to temporarily fill that vacancy until the vacancy is filled through the general election on November 3, 2026. The temporary appointment will terminate December 7, 2026. To be eligible for appointment to fill this vacancy, a person must be a resident in the Fourth Judicial Circuit at the time of the appointment.

Qualifications for the office of Circuit Judge are set forth in section 11 of article VI of the Constitution of Illinois and 705 ILCS 40/2(d). Persons meeting those qualifications are invited to submit applications containing the information requested in the <u>Applicant Information for Circuit Judge At Large, Fourth Judicial Circuit Vacancy</u>, along with a cover letter to Justice David K. Overstreet, P.O. Box 489, Mt. Vernon, IL 62864 or electronically to his Senior Law Clerk, Tracy Martin at tmartin@illinoiscourts.gov. Applications must be received in his office by Friday, January 31, 2025.

The <u>Applicant Information</u> form may be obtained from Justice Overstreet or the following:

Chief Judge Martin W. Siemer, Fayette County Courthouse, 221 S. 7th St., Vandalia, IL 62471

4th Circuit Court Clerks:

Christian County – Jeff Voorhees, Courthouse, 101 S. Main St., Taylorville, IL 62568 Clay County – Crystal Ballard, Courthouse, 111 Chestnut St., Louisville, IL 62858 Clinton County – Rod Kloeckner, Courthouse, 850 Fairfax, Carlyle, IL 62231 Effingham County – Tammy Kreke, 120 W. Jefferson, Effingham, IL 62401 Fayette County – Kathy Emerick, Courthouse, 221 S. 7th St, Vandalia, IL 62471 Jasper County – Jamie Blake, Courthouse, 100 W. Jourdan, Newton, IL 62448 Marion County – Tiffany Schicker, Courthouse, 100 E. Main St., Salem, IL 62881 Montgomery County – Daniel Robbins, Courthouse, 120 N. Main St., Hillsboro, IL 62049 Shelby County – Peter Otis, Courthouse, 301 E. Main St., Shelbyville, IL 62565

Dated this 9th day of January 2025.