STATE OF ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT

At a Term of the Supreme Court, begun and held in Springfield, on Monday, the 8th day of January, 2024.

Present: Mary Jane Theis, Chief Justice

Justice P. Scott Neville, Jr.
Justice Lisa Holder White
Justice Elizabeth M. Rochford

Justice David K. Overstreet Justice Joy V. Cunningham Justice Mary K. O'Brien

M.R.001403

In re: Judicial Vacancy

Order

In the exercise of the general administrative and supervisory authority over the courts of Illinois conferred on this Court pursuant to article VI, section 16 of the Illinois Constitution of 1970 (III. Const. 1970, art. VI, sec. 16); and out of public necessity in order to ensure a more adequate level of judicial staffing within the Circuit Court of Cook County; IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

Pursuant to the authority of section 12, subsection (c), of article VI of the Constitution of this State, the following appointment is made:

Circuit Judge of Cook County, Thirteenth Subcircuit

Effective February 2, 2024, and terminating December 2, 2024, Mary Sevandal Cohen is appointed Circuit Judge of Cook County, Thirteenth Subcircuit, to the position formerly held by the Honorable Ketki Shroff Steffen. Mary Sevandal Cohen has received recent positive ratings from members of the Alliance of Bar Associations for Judicial Screening and the Chicago Bar Association following the interviews and evaluations.

Order entered by the Court.



IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and affixed the seal of said Court, this 17th day of January, 2024.

Cyrthia A. Grant
Clerk,
Supreme Court of the State of Illinois

FILED
January 17, 2024
SUPREME COURT
CLERK