## **Rule 41. Judicial Conference**

(a) Duties. There shall be a Judicial Conference to consider the work of the courts and to suggest improvements in the administration of justice. The Judicial Conference shall be the body to strategically plan for the Illinois judicial branch.

## (b) Membership.

(1) The membership of the Judicial Conference shall consist of 29 members as follows:

(A) The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Illinois, who shall preside over the conference as chairperson;

(B) A justice of the Supreme Court of Illinois;

(C) The Director of the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts;

(D) An appellate court judge;

(E) The Chief Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County;

(F) The chairperson and vice-chairperson of the Conference of Chief Circuit Judges;

(G) A judge who is a member of the Illinois Judicial College Board of Trustees;

(H) A judge who is a member of the Supreme Court Commission on Access to Justice;

(I) Seven judges as follows: three judges from the First Judicial District and one judge from each of the other four Judicial Districts;

(J) Three clerks of court, at least two of whom shall be circuit court clerks;

(K) Three trial court administrators or court administrative staff;

(L) Three attorneys licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois;

(M) Three members of the public; and

(N) A person who is not a judge but who is involved with the judicial branch or administration of justice.

(2)(A) All members shall be appointed by the Supreme Court except those members serving on the Judicial Conference by nature of their position designated in subparagraphs (b)(1)(A), (C), (E), and (F).

(B) All members serving on the Judicial Conference by nature of their position designated in subparagraphs (b)(1)(A), (C), (E), and (F) shall serve on the Judicial Conference so long as they hold that position. Of the remaining members appointed by the Supreme Court, one-third shall initially be appointed to a two-year term, one-third shall initially be appointed to a three-year term, and one-third shall initially be appointed to a four-year term. All members appointed or reappointed following these inaugural terms shall serve three-year terms. Other than the inaugural membership, no member may serve more than two consecutive three-year terms (six years), subject to the discretion of the Supreme Court.

(c) Other Committees, Task Forces, and Work Groups. Subject to the approval of the Supreme Court, the Judicial Conference may establish such other committees, task forces, and work groups as necessary to further the work of the conference.

(d) Meetings of Conference. The conference shall meet at least once annually at a place and

on a date to be designated by the Chief Justice.

(e) Administration. Under the direction of the Chief Justice, the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts shall staff the Judicial Conference.

Amended effective July 1, 1971; amended March 1, 1993, effective immediately; amended September 23, 2008, effective immediately; amended Oct. 11, 2012, effective immediately; amended Oct. 4, 2013, eff. Nov. 1, 2013; amended Dec. 9, 2014, eff. Oct. 1, 2014, *nunc pro tunc*; amended Sept. 28, 2018, eff. Oct. 1, 2018.

## **Committee Comments**

(Sept. 28, 2018)

On Sept. 28, 2018, the Supreme Court reconstituted the Illinois Judicial Conference into an active strategic planning and policy body for the judicial branch of the State of Illinois. Through strategic planning and in consultation with those who work in and with the judicial branch, the Judicial Conference will develop and implement the judicial branch's mission, values, and goals in order to achieve sustainable court governance, a more uniform court system, and an impartial, accessible, and efficient justice system.