## The Jeffery D. Colman Access to Justice Award

The Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Access to Justice is pleased to announce recipients of the Jeffery D. Colman Access to Justice Award. The recipients have made significant contributions toward achieving the goal of enhancing access to our civil court system.

The Commission was scheduled to begin the annual presentation of the Jefferey D. Colman award in the summer of 2020 but the plans were delayed because of the COVID-19 pandemic. The Commission is now presenting this honor for years 2020, 2021, and 2022 and will hold a celebration of the honorees in the near future.



## 2020 AWARDEES



Standardized Court Forms Committee are honored for the countless hours which they devoted to the development of statewide court forms and instructions. Under their stewardship, the Forms Committee has finalized 52 form sets in areas including family, criminal records, mortgage foreclosure, civil procedure, and eviction, among others.







## HALLE COX

Kane County's Law Library and Self-Help
Director receives the award for her creation of
Kane County's Lawyer in the Library program,
repeated participation in the Commission's
Court Navigator Network as a Self-Represented
Litigant Coordinator, supervision of an Illinois
JusticeCorps Fellow, and development of
innovative and valuable legal resources which
assist litigants in Kane County.





**2022 AWARDEE** 

## **MELISSA PICCOLA**

Director of Pro Bono & Community Partnerships at Legal Aid Chicago is lauded for her work in connecting self-represented litigants to legal advice, particularly in the area of criminal records relief and eviction. In her role, she has vastly expanded the network of legal aid opportunities available to pro bono attorneys. As a result, more litigants than ever received legal assistance during the pandemic when the need for such services was at its height.

