## EGEN BAR 1880

## THE CHICAGO BAR ASSOCIATION

321 South Plymouth Court Chicago, Illinois 60604-3923 Tel (312) 554-2000 Fax (312) 554-2054 www.chicagobar.org

## **OFFICERS:**

E. Lynn Grayson PRESIDENT

Timothy S. Tomas k
FIRST VICE PRESIDENT

Ray J. Koenig III SECOND VICE PRESIDENT

Kathryn C. Liss SECRETARY

John C. Sciaccotta TREASURER

## **VIA EMAIL**

January 21, 2022

Supreme Court of Illinois Rules Committee 222 N. LaSalle Street, 13<sup>th</sup> Floor Chicago, IL 60601

Dear Members of the Supreme Court of Illinois Rules Committee,

On behalf of the Chicago Bar Association, I am writing in support of the Illinois Judicial Ethics Committee (IJEC) proposal to implement a new Illinois Code of Judicial Conduct.

For thirty years, the IJEC has responded to ethics inquiries from judges and judicial candidates through either immediate oral responses, or more detailed formal opinions. In responding to such inquiries, the Committee has relied on the Illinois Code of Judicial Conduct, the ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct, and opinions issued by IJEC, bodies like IJEC and courts.

They have worked for several years on the proposal for the new Illinois Code of Judicial Conduct. The proposal aligns the structuring and numbering of the Code provisions with the 2007 revision of the ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct, which has been adopted by a majority of states, to facilitate access to decisional law and ethics opinions. The IJEC incorporated provisions to address the impact of social media, changes in recognized family relations, and economic forces warranting changes to monetary thresholds for reporting assets and indebtedness. The proposal also clarifies provisions the IJEC's experience has shown challenging to judges seeking guidance on ethical issues.

The CBA appreciates the time, talent, and dedication of the IJEC in drafting the proposed Illinois Code of Judicial Conduct and we strongly support the adoption of the proposal.

Very truly yours.

E. Lynn Grayson

President

BOARD OF MANAGERS: Maryam Ahmad • Tracy Brammeier • Nina Fain • Hon. Charles S. Beach II • Alexis Crawford Douglas • Hon. Clare Elizabeth McWilliams • Juan Morado, Jr. • Brandon Peck • Ashley Rafael • Antonio M. Romanucci • Hon. Maria Valdez • Michael Alkaraki • Octavio Duran • Robert W. Fioretti • Malcolm "Skip" Harsch • Risa R. Lanier • Patricia L. McCarthy • Hon. James M. McGing (Ret.)• Sandra S. Yamate