## The Hon. Thomas L. Kilbride (Ret.) Judicial Access to Justice Award

The Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Access to Justice is pleased to announce the 2023 recipient of The Hon. Thomas L. Kilbride (Ret.) Judicial Access to Justice Award. This award is given to a member of the judiciary who has made a significant or meaningful contribution to increasing access to the court system by improving the experience of litigants.





## **2023 AWARDEE**

## **Justice Mary K. Rochford**

Justice Rochford was appointed to the Commission in 2012 and became the Chair of the Commission in 2015, a position she held until June of 2023. During her tenure, she accomplished innumerable deliverables that moved the needle of justice towards greater access. A few of her many achievements include:

- Leading the successful effort to create statewide, standardized, legal court forms
- Promulgating the Illinois Supreme Court Language Access
  Policy and Illinois Supreme Court Policy on Assistance to
  Court Patrons by Circuit Clerks, Court Staff, Law Librarians and
  Court Volunteers
- Increasing support for the Illinois JusticeCorps program
- Launching the Court Navigator Network, the Access to Justice Court Improvement Grant Program, and Illinois Court Help

