

April 19, 2024

## JUSTICE LISA HOLDER WHITE ANNOUNCES FORMATION OF JUDICIAL SCREENING COMMITTEE TO FILL EIGHTH CIRCUIT VACANCY

Public invited to submit comments on applicants.

Justice Lisa Holder White of the Supreme Court of Illinois has announced the formation of a judicial screening committee for the Eighth Judicial Circuit.

The screening committee was formed for the purpose of assessing the qualifications of those who have applied for appointment to the office of Judge of the Circuit Court for the Eighth Judicial Circuit. The removal of Judge Robert Adrian, effective February 23, 2024, created the vacancy. Under the Illinois Constitution, the vacancy will be filled by Supreme Court appointment.

After the committee has received public input, gathered information, and interviewed each of the applicants, it will report its findings to the Supreme Court of Illinois who will make the appointment. The person appointed will serve as a Circuit Judge until the general election to be held in November 2026.

The screening committee consists of non-lawyers and lawyers who reside in the Eighth Judicial Circuit. The non-lawyer members of the committee are Nicole Kopec, Lee Lindsay, Stacey Juilfs, and Dr. Eric Sieck. The lawyer members of the committee are Judge Diane Lagoski (ret.), Judge Scott Butler (ret.), and Attorney Hal Oakley.

Judge Lagoski will serve as chairperson of the committee.

Applicants being considered for appointment to the judgeship are Timothy A. Bass, Gabriel T. Grosboll, Jonathan S. Hoover, Joshual L. Jones, Andrew O. Mays, Christopher W.B. Pratt, Casey J. Schnack, and Jennifer A. Winking.

Members of the public are invited to submit written comments concerning the applicants by U.S. mail to: Eighth Judicial Screening Committee, Adams County Courthouse, 521 Vermont Street, Quincy, IL 62301 or by email to <a href="mailto:smain@adamscountyil.gov">smain@adamscountyil.gov</a>. Comments must be in writing and received **no later** than 5 p.m. on May 1, 2024. Anonymous letters will not be accepted. All comments will be held in the strictest confidence by the committee and the court.

(FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: James Brunner, Public Information Officer of the Illinois Supreme Court at 217.208.3354 or jbrunner@illinoiscourts.gov.)