

January 19, 2024

## ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT ASSIGNS HON. DAVID VANCIL TO FOURTH DISTRICT APPELLATE COURT

Justice Lisa Holder White and the Illinois Supreme Court have announced the assignment of Ninth Circuit Chief Judge David L. Vancil Jr., to the Fourth District Appellate Court.

Judge Vancil is being assigned to fill a newly created seat in the Fourth Appellate District. The assignment is effective February 2, 2024, and will continue until further order of the Court.

"Judge Vancil has proven himself to be a leader who has the admiration and respect of his community and his peers," Justice Holder White said. "His extensive prior experience along with his commitment to excellence and strong work ethic make him an outstanding addition to the Appellate Court, Fourth District."

Judge Vancil was first appointed to the bench as a Resident Circuit Judge in the Ninth Circuit for Henderson County in 2002. He won retention in 2008, 2014, and 2020. Since September 2015, he has served as the Chief Judge of the Ninth Circuit. Prior to becoming a judge, he served as State's Attorney for Henderson County from 1996 to 2002. From 1994 to 1996, he served first as an Assistant Public Defender for Knox County and then as an Assistant State's Attorney for Warren County.

"I want to thank Justice Holder White and the Supreme Court for having confidence in my abilities and giving me the opportunity to serve on the Fourth District Appellate Court," Judge Vancil said. "I look forward to the challenges this new position will bring and promise to do my best to meet those challenges.

Judge Vancil's judicial committee activities include serving as Chairman of the Conference of Chief Judges, Chairman of the Judicial Mentor Committee, a member of the Illinois Judicial Conference, as well as Vice-Chair of the Illinois Judicial College Committee on Circuit Clerk Education. He has served on the Illinois Judges' Association Board of Directors and on several Supreme Court Task Forces.

Judge Vancil earned his Bachelor of Science degree from Illinois State University and his *Juris Doctor* from the Southern Illinois University School of Law.

The Fourth Appellate Court is composed of 41 counties in central and western Illinois: Adams, Boone, Brown, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Knox, Lee, Livingston, Logan, Macoupin, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Stephenson, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Winnebago and Woodford.

(FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: James Brunner, Public Information Officer of the Illinois Supreme Court at 217.208.3354 or <a href="mailto:jbrunner@illinoiscourts.gov">jbrunner@illinoiscourts.gov</a>.)