

Supreme Court of Illinois

January 5, 2024

CORTNEY KUNTZE SWORN-IN AS NEW FIFTH DISTRICT APPELLATE COURT CLERK

Justice David K. Overstreet and the Illinois Supreme Court announced today the swearing-in of new Fifth District Appellate Court Clerk Cortney E. Kuntze at a ceremony held in the Fifth District Appellate Court Courtroom in Mount Vernon.

Justice Overstreet presided over the ceremony, making opening remarks and closing the ceremony after administering the oath swearing-in Kuntze. Presiding Justice Barry Vaughan of the Fifth District Appellate Court welcomed those in attendance, including Justices of the Fifth District Appellate Court, and led the pledge of allegiance.

"Cortney Kuntze has been an integral part of the staff at the Fifth District Appellate Court for many years and I know that she will carry on the tradition of outstanding Fifth District Appellate Court Clerks," Justice Overstreet said. "She is also a trailblazer as the first female Clerk and I believe the youngest in the Fifth District to assume this position as well."

Kuntze joined the Fifth District Appellate Court in 2010 serving both as a research attorney and later as an appellate attorney prior to being appointed as Clerk of the Fifth District Appellate Court. She replaced Jack Flood, who retired Dec. 31 after 39 years with the Fifth District Appellate Court, including the last 14 years as Clerk.

"In my time with the court, we have undergone many changes with redistricting and the modernization of our filing systems," Kuntze said. "I look forward to representing the court in this rapidly evolving future, and am honored that the Justices have trusted me to represent the 5th District Appellate Court as Clerk."

She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree with honors from Arkansas State University and earned both her Juris Doctor and LL.M degrees from the Southern Illinois University School of Law.

The Fifth Appellate District hears cases from across 48 counties in the southernmost part of Illinois, including: Alexander, Bond, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Macon, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Montgomery, Moultrie, Perry, Piatt, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, St. Clair, Saline, Shelby, Union, Vermilion, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, and Williamson.

(FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: James Brunner, Public Information Officer of the Illinois Supreme Court at 217.208.3354 or <u>ibrunner@illinoiscourts.gov</u>.)