STATE OF ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT

At a Term of the Supreme Court, begun and held in Springfield, on Monday, the 11th day of November, 2024.

Present: Mary Jane Theis, Chief Justice

Justice P. Scott Neville, Jr.

Justice David K. Overstreet

Justice Lisa Holder White

Justice Joy V. Cunningham

Justice Elizabeth M. Rochford

Justice Mary K. O'Brien

M.R. 032493

In re: Illinois Supreme Court Data Task Force

<u>Order</u>

Whereas data is crucial to state courts for effective case management, court performance, allocating resources efficiently, making informed decisions, understanding the communities our courts serve, and maintaining public trust through transparency and accountability;

Whereas the Illinois Supreme Court is committed to developing a plan to capture accurate and consistent court event data from all 102 Illinois counties;

Whereas to accomplish this goal, a standard data collection process is necessary;

And whereas this Court exercises general administrative and supervisory authority over Illinois courts pursuant to Article VI, section 16 of the Illinois Constitution of 1970 (III. Const. 1970, art. VI, sec. 16);

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT the Supreme Court Data Task Force is created and charged with the following:

- 1. Identification of court events relating to pretrial decisions;
- 2. Preparing a list of the pretrial decisions to be reflected on each circuit or county's form order(s) entered in conjunction with such decisions; and
- With the support of the AOIC, work with individual circuits/counties to ensure that local form orders (i) comply with the foregoing and (ii) include a specified code for each identified court event to ensure proper coding in the circuit clerk's record.

The Task Force is to report back to the Supreme Court with its findings and recommendations as to parts 1 and 2 by February 28, 2025.

Thereafter, the Task Force is to provide monthly status reports on its progress toward part 3, with the objective that such work will be substantially completed by June 30, 2025.

Effective immediately and until further order of the Court, the following individuals are appointed members of the Illinois Supreme Court Data Task Force:

One Chief Judge and Circuit Clerk representative from each of Illinois' five Judicial Districts:

First District

Hon. Timothy C. Evans (or designee) Chief Judge Circuit Court of Cook County 50 W. Washington St., S#2600

Cook County Circuit Clerk 50 W. Washington St., S#1001 Chicago, IL 60602

Hon. Mariyana Spyropoulos

Second District

Hon. Robert K. Villa Chief Judge Sixteenth Judicial Circuit Kane County Judicial Center 37W777 IL Route 38, S#301 St. Charles, IL 60175

Chicago, IL 60602

Hon. Theresa Barreiro Kane County Circuit Clerk 540 South Randall Road St. Charles, IL 60174

Third District

Hon. Bonnie M. Wheaton Chief Judge Eighteenth Judicial Circuit DuPage County Courthouse 505 N. County Farm Road Wheaton, IL 60187 Hon. Candice Adams DuPage County Circuit Clerk 505 N. County Farm Road Wheaton, IL 60187

Fourth District

Hon. John S. Lowry Chief Judge Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Winnebago County Courthouse 400 W. State Street, Rm. 215 Rockford, IL 61101 Lisa Goodwin
Office of the Winnebago
County Circuit Clerk
400 W. State Street
Rockford, IL 61101

Fifth District

Hon. Martin W. Siemer Chief Judge Fourth Judicial Circuit Effingham County Gov't Center 120 W. Jefferson Ave. Effingham, IL 62401 Hon. Tiffany Schicker Marion County Circuit Clerk 100 E. Main Street Salem, IL 62881

Two Trial Court Administrators:

Tom Jakeway Trial Court Administrator Seventeenth Judicial Circuit 400 W. State Street Rockford, IL 61101 Sharon Main Trial Court Administrator Eighth Judicial Circuit 521 Vermont St. Quincy, IL 62301

University Data Specialist:

Dr. Dave Olson Loyola University of Chicago Center for Criminal Justice 1032 W. Sheridan Rd. Mundelein Center, 8th Fl. Chicago, IL 60660

The Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts shall provide administrative support to the Task Force.

Hon. Eugene Doherty, Justice of the Illinois Appellate Court, Fourth District, shall serve as chairperson of the Supreme Court Data Task Force until further order of the Court.

Order entered by the Court.



IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and affixed the seal of said Court, this 3rd day of December, 2024.

Cythia A. Graut

Clerk,
Supreme Court of the State of Illinois

FILED
December 3, 2024
SUPREME COURT
CLERK